Drama Tween

Standard

Tweens.  I have one.  Actually, I think his tween cooties have begun to infect his younger brother.  I may have TWO.

Still my loving, mama-respecting boys…..they show glimpses of tween cootie inhabitants.  Plugged into iPods with closed bedroom doors, DRAMA and a little bit of sass.  What happens when I ask my son to move his homework station out of the room where his siblings are watching TV (“mom, they are BOTHERING me!”)?  A dramatic sweep of the books, 3 minutes of contorted complaints as he tries to get ‘comfortable’ in another room….and eventually a grand finale:  10 minutes of hideous wailing in his room because I just made his day “the worst day in his life EVER!”

Because I asked him to move.

Sigh.  What’s a mother to do?  Just keep loving.  I try very, very hard not to raise my own voice because it just makes things worse.  My success rate is about 60 percent.  But I just keep loving and supporting.  He’s growing and fighting hormone junk…..my quietness almost always yields a sniffly “sorry, Mom” after the drama ceases.

Still, I wonder how the heck I’ll survive when teenagers inhabit my house.  Oy.  At least I know many moms and dads who will be going through it to.  🙂

No matter how calmly you try to referee, parenting will eventually produce bizarre behavior, and I’m not talking about the kids. Their behavior is always normal.
Bill Cosby 
 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

