Standard

It’s my turn to help serve school lunch this Friday.  On the menu:  corn dog nuggets, potato wedges, baked beans, some sort of fruit choice and milk.  I guarantee chocolate milk (now served EVERY day) will be the drink of choice.  YES, I do plan to pack my own lunch. 

While I’m still figuring out a game plan regarding just what I can do about this, I can (and will) take Jamie’s advice in revolutionizing our own homes.  Now, I’ve already told about my quest for incorporating new fresh grains and veggies into my family diet.  Many of you wrinkled your noses at the mention of kale, summer squash and quinoa in my meals.  Then I encourage you to do this, per Jamie’s advice:

COOK WITH YOUR FAMILY

You can start a food revolution in your own home, all you need to do is cook something. From scratch. With fresh and raw ingredients – no packets, no cheating! 

  • If you know how to cook – pass on your skills and keep them alive for future generations. If your kids and their families don’t learn, their only option will be a diet of processed and fast food.
  • If you don’t know how to cook – start now, it could change your life and improve your health prospects!

Pledge to do it once a week with your family or friends.

Okay, I have so much more to say on other subjects, but I’ll have to let that go in the name of washing my daughter’s hair.   ‘Til next time!

One response »

  1. Kale is Jason’s favorite vegetable. We love kale and it is REALLY good for your eyes. My mom has even prescribed it to her patients.

Leave a Reply

