9:24PM

Standard

It’s Saturday night.  9:24.  I’m sitting in the dark, typing away.  Kids are in bed.  Hubby is out playing hockey somewhere.  I.  Love.  This.

No kidding.  How often do I get a completely silent moment?  Just the ticking of the clock and all my little random thoughts….   For instance, we tried a new recipe for supper.  Black bean burgers (gasp! shock!)  Yes, burgers without meat.  They were rockin’ fresh pepper, garlic, onions, parsely, cilantro, black beans and….. 1 egg.  One little egg that I’m obsessing about.  Did it get cooked?  The burgers where delicious, but squishy.  Which means it didn’t get cooked.  Did it?  Or am I crazy?  No one is sick.  Well, at that thought, I suddenly feel sick.  I do.  I think my stomach is feeling a little off.  Oh heck, it had to have been cooked.  6 minutes on each side.  Done deal.  No egg could have survived that.

And it goes on and on.  I fully admit that I have a bit of anxiety that I cope with from time to time.  Heck, I think a lot of people do.  They just don’t own up to it.   I am learning to embrace it and consider myself very prepared for all situations….after all, I’ve thought about outcomes far too much.  Maybe that’s why those ‘choose your own ending’ books always entertained me so much as a kid.

So, before my brain further dwells on food illnesses, I’d like to note my favorite part of today.  We had our usual Saturday night family movie time.  On the big screen:  The Muppet Movie.  1979.  Kermit and his new found friends trek across America to find success in Hollywood, but a frog-legs merchant is after Kermit.  Nominated for two Oscars….classic, good fun.

The kids loved it, although my youngest didn’t know who Big Bird was.  She actually guessed, “Barney?”  Oy, yoy, yoy (I think I developed a wrinkle and a gray hair).  Which leads me to this:  Do you know how many Muppet guest stars are now deceased in this movie?  Richard Pryor, Dom DeLuise, Milton Berle, Orson Welles, and Bob Hope…just for starters.  It seems especially sad.  Oddly, the collection of their appearances in a single movie ….blended with the fact that this movie spelled out the picture of my youth (who didn’t watch the Muppets every day?)… gives me pause for thought.  Life passes us by so quickly, I really appreciate what I’m doing right now.  I can’t think of anything better than raising 3 beautiful kiddos to carry on the torch.  Of course, this movie’s famous song is stuck in my head:

Someday we’ll find it, the rainbow connection,
The lovers, the dreamers and me.

With that, I leave you tonight for a bowl of ice cream and a chick flick.  Before the raw egg kills me in my sleep.

Leave a Reply

