Standard

Oh my gosh, my last blog was so taxing….I just haven’t gotten back into the swing of things.  Actually, that’s an excuse.  With life busy from minute-to-minute, I haven’t felt the energy to sit down and type.  Just type.  Thanks to peer pressure, I’m game to continue.

What’s new?  Well, I’m tackling a partially vegetarian/vegan meal plan for our family of 5.  Risky, considering  we have one very picky eater.  So my plan includes a sneak attack.  I have a vegan baking book  on order:  The Joy of Vegan Baking by author Colleen Patrick-Goudreau.  What better way to test this out on my son (picky eater) than in cookies and baked french toast?  After oodles of additional research, I also ordered Vegan with a Vengeance : Over 150 Delicious, Cheap, Animal-Free Recipes That Rock by Isa Chandra Moskowitz.  Does that scream ME or what? 

Now, I’m NOT doing this to boycott the meat industry.  Yet.  I’m increasily sickened by the thought of genetically altered chicken breasts….or meat filled with hormones….or lack of humane living/slaughter conditions in the name of cheap mass production.  No, I’m simply approaching this because so many people claim to FEEL better on a more vegan diet.  It interests me.  It challenges me.  It excites me….I’m way too tired of the same old kid-friendly meals at our dinner table.  Every one better buck up!  Mama’s on a creative streak.

With all of this blah blah about eating healthier, I DID throw in a fun meal challenge:  Boeuf Bourguignon (recipe by Julie Child) inspired by my recent viewing of Julie and Julia this early Sunday morning.  Who can be a complete vegetarian with food like that drifting in and out of kitchens? 

And so this begins.  We’ll see how long I can make it stick.  Until next time.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

